Steering Committee

Executive Committee

SPEN is led by a diverse and dedicated group of volunteers who share the passion for integrating positive education principles and approaches into educational practice with the imperative of supporting students to thrive in school and beyond. This group upholds the value of distributed leadership in helping SPEN to grow and achieve its goals. As the group grows, more committees will be created. 


Chairperson, Committee on Partnerships and Linkages

Mr. Ng Yeow Ling


Chairperson, Committee on Research-Practice Integration

Dr. Imelda Santos Caleon


Chairpersons, Committee on Group Interaction and Support

Ms. Chua-Yap Chen Hian Veronica and Mr. Edwin Lim



SPEN welcomes any school or educational institution that is keen to be a part of this organic and dynamic network.  For a start, this grounds-up initiative involves the following personnel, with support from the Principals Academy Inc. (PAI):


National Institute of Education

Dr Jennifer Pei-Ling Tan                        Assistant Dean, Office of Education Research

Dr Imelda Santos Caleon                      Research Scientist, Centre for Research in Pedagogy and Practice

Ms Tan Giam Hwee                               Administrative Assistant, Office of Education Research

Mr Teo Wei Pin Edmund                       Research Associate, Centre for Research in Pedagogy and Practice

Nur Qamarina Bte Ilham                       Research Assistant, Centre for Research in Pedagogy and Practice


Hwa Chong Institution

Mr Pang Choon How                            Principal    

Ms Chua-Yap Chen Hian Veronica     Director, Wellbeing

Mr Edwin Lim                                        Senior Teacher, Well-being


River Valley High School

Mrs Teo Khin Hiang                              Principal   

Mr Lau Wai Chi                                     Vice-Principal

Mdm Yeo Chin Pang Catalina             Dean, Junior High


Westwood Primary School

Mr Ng Yeow Ling                                   Principal   

Ms Tracy Tan                                         Vice-Principal

Mdm Sophia Tan                                   Year Head

Mr Rafik Alkhatib                                   School Staff Developer


Other Singapore Schools

Mdm Yee Fhang Fann Kang                 Head, Character and Citizenship Education

Mdm Juli Anna Mohamad Aris              Senior Teacher

Mr Ong Chin Leng                                 Teacher